Breaking Through Writer’s Block

20 May
thorinside / Foter.com / CC BY-NC

“Convince yourself that you are working in clay, not marble, on paper not eternal bronze: Let that first sentence be as stupid as it wishes.”

—Jacques Barzun

Last week I had a brain fog, I had to put so much effort into even writing my blog posts. Trying to write my book was even more difficult, 500 words written in a week isn’t what I call my usual progress. Compare that to 500-1000 words written a day!

I was scared, very scared. I felt like my writing creativity was gone, just like drawing, and wasn’t going to come back. I did my best to follow advice and “not stress about it” but in reality that is almost impossible.

Alun Salt / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

I researched some ways to break through writers block and found some things such as go for walks, spend quality time with friends/family, and do other things besides trying to write. Well guess what? I did all of that however none of it worked. The following is what I did within a weeks time:

~Read a lot in genre that I am writing
~Took at least two walks a day
~Went to the park with my kids and grand baby ( and yes I even played! )
~Went to the library
~Had a fire in backyard with my kids and we ate s’mores
~Watched a couple good movies
~Did a lot of crafting with my kids
~Wrote and spoke about my feelings of my writers block
~Tried some writing prompts
~I even went as far as looking up photos/images on Pinterest for inspiration
~Finally, tried writing in a couple different rooms in the house and in our backyard

Of course, when none of the above worked I got even more frustrated which I am sure didn’t help my situation. It is a vicious cycle which then becomes to hard to break through.

However, I found one way that helped me, maybe it’ll help you too. There is a bit of an event that happened yesterday which I need to share but I promise it will lead to my point.

Yesterday morning my husband was in excruciating pain. He was curled up in fetal position and he was close to crying. He asked me to bring him to the ER so I immediately found a sitter for our 5 year old and off we went. I know how ER’s are. They tend to be very, very slow and I felt like I should bring my Nexus tablet and my notebook to help pass the time.

After my husband was given painkillers and he was more comfortable I picked up my tablet and read The Eye Dancers by Michael S. Fedison. Only distraction I had was the beeping of machines and the occasional nurse or Dr checking on my husband. Hubby was dozing in and out of sleep at this point.

FindYourSearch / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

I read about 20 Kindle pages and then hubby was wide awake and chatting with me so I put tablet down. Then he fell back to sleep so I checked out Pinterest and Twitter and wrote a post on my other blog. Suddenly I had random thoughts and ideas for my book!! They were in no particular order but I decided to just write them down. I wrote, wrote and wrote.

I had written 6 paragraphs about 5-10 sentences long and like I said each one were in no particular order. I made myself not care about how jumbled it was. I just let it flow. I wrote what I envisioned in my mind. Some of the paragraphs won’t be included into way later in my book. However, the way I looked at it was it is better than not writing at all.

I was thankful I brought my tablet and notebook because I was at hospital for 9 hours! 7 hours spent in ER and 2 spent with hubby in hospital room. He has to stay for a couple days :(.

I also realized yesterday that the next time I have writers block maybe it is just the one scene I am stuck on. I will skip the scene for now and work on the next. Honestly, through all my research I haven’t found that bit of advice to break through that wall. Have you?

How do you break through writers block?

Photo credit: thorinside / Foter.com / CC BY-NC

Photo credit: Alun Salt / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

Photo credit: FindYourSearch / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

3 Responses to “Breaking Through Writer’s Block”

  1. laekanzeakemp May 20, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    Such a great quote. I’m constantly having to remind myself that no one is looking over my shoulder during a first draft so I can stop worrying about how bad it is and just focus on finishing it.

    • Kristy J. W. May 22, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      I have been trying to reply to your comment, technical difficulties ugh. Maybe it’ll work this time!
      It really is difficult to just let the words flow in a first draft. I know exactly what you mean.
      Take care!

  2. avamoreno May 20, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    Reblogged this on Ava Moreno and commented:
    exactly!

Leave a Reply

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

Kouzounas Kitchen

Modern Greek Recipes

atomatogrowsinqueens

Organic Gardening

beverlyshelby

An award free blog. Thank you so much for stopping by, your "likes" (or not), and your comments. I appreciate each of you and enjoy your blogs and your creativity. So here's to a new year of friends, photos, and words!

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Exquisite Gift Baskets

Elegant, Affordable Gift Baskets & Gifts

JDSelmser

In love with the idea of being in love

wild*crafty

food, medicine, land

Deep Green Permaculture

Connecting People to Nature, Empowering People to Live Sustainably

Semantic Marmot

I sail only for the counterpoint.

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

soma

positive thinking

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Twinkling Star (Yasmeen Sana Baloch)

Looking for peace,justice and understanding

