Interview With J.B. Turner

14 Jun

image

I would like to introduce you to J.B. Turner, author of upcoming book Hard Road which will be released July 30th 2013. You can also check out his website here and follow him on Twitter and Facebook.

Also for more information on his book you can go here to Exhibit A Book publisher. His upcoming book is available for pre-order on amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com

image

Can you give me a description of your upcoming book?

J.B.:Hard Road is a conspiracy thriller. The protagonist is an-special forces operative, Jon Reznick. Since his wife died on 9/11, he has worked hard to keep his shadowy world hidden from his eleven-year-old daughter. But when he’s ordered by his handler to assassinate a man in an exclusive Washington DC hotel, he discovers the target is not at all who he at first appears to be. He is quickly ensnared in a web of murder, extortion and treason, and he finds himself fighting to outwit not only the clandestine group intent on hunting him down, but also to evade capture by FBI Assistant Director Martha Meyerstein. But it’s not only Reznick’s survival that’s at stake. A terrifying plot by a  foreign government to bring the United States to its knees is underway. And only Reznick can stop it.

How long have you been writing, as a hobby and as a professional? And what sparked your interest in writing?

J.B.: I’m an ex-journalist and have written news and feature articles for numerous years, and have been a full-time author since 2008. I loved English at school and my mother is a great reader. She devours books. And I think I take my love of words and fiction from her.

Have you self published anything in the past or published your works through traditional means?

J.B.:Never self published but I think the industry is changing and self publishing is a very attractive option for many new authors. It does mean that the marketing, editing, cover, publicity etc all have to come from the author, but I think a lot of new writers view that as a challenge.

Exhibit A is a brand new crime/thriller imprint and I was very fortunate that they snapped up World English Language Rights for Hard Road very quickly after it went out on submission from my agent.

Me: For more information on World English Language Rights you can go here. Which explains many different “rights” you can give your publisher. Highly informative with simplistic explanations.

What genre do you enjoy writing? And why?

J.B.:Thriller writing seems to come naturally. It’s taken years to get a publishing deal. But I can honestly say that delving into dark, fast-moving plots definitely gives me a buzz. Maybe it’s because I’m an ex-journalist who loves stories. Be it news, fluff features on celebrities, whatever. I’m interested and fascinated by people. I think that goes for most writers.

Me: I am quite interested and fascinated by people also. Curiosity to know how people tick is so strong. I also think it really does go for most writers.

What inspired you to write your book?

J.B.:Very good question, Kristy. It started with a simple notion: what if an assassin did not kill the man he had been sent to kill. And it got me thinking. The cogs in my head were moving. And then I read about a bizarre bio-experiment by the U.S. government in the 1960s – known as the Subway Experiment – trying to predict who is dangerous and widespread the dispersal of deadly bio-agents into an enclosed atmosphere.

My story centers on Reznick being sent to kill a man, unaware the man is a government scientist. His daughter is kidnapped as a punishment for not killing the man. And then he becomes embroiled in a deadly cat and mouse game with the kidnappers, heading down to get her in Miami. But all the time, a bio-plot by a foreign government is emerging, and he joins up with the Feds as not only his daughter but his country is in peril.

Thoughts about self-publishing vs traditional publishing?

J.B.:Whatever works for you. I can see the pros and cons of both sides. It is very difficult to get a traditional publisher interested in a new author. That is just a fact. And it will take years. It took me many years before I became a published author. But with the rise of the ebook and Kindle and Amazon, and the ease of uploading books to the Internet, a savvy and smart new author can circumvent the traditional model, albeit having to fork out money for an editor, book cover design, etc. Every writer is different, and it is surely up to the individual writer to decide what works best for them.

If an aspiring writer were to ask you for advice what would you tell them?

J.B.:Believe in yourself. First and foremost it all comes from something deep within a writer. But along the way, you’ve got to be prepared to take rejection. It takes years to learn to write.  You must read a lot. Read anything. Read genre. Read out of your genre. Read literary. Read classics. And read some good writing books. Self-Editing for Fiction Writers is terrific and so is the great Stephen King’s On Writing. Bottom line? You’ve got to dig in and if you believe you have a story to tell, then it’s not just a matter of tapping out any stuff that comes to mind. Think HOW you are going to write it.

From who’s point of view should you write it? In Hard Road I have four point of view characters. And the reader can enter their worlds and see their story develop. A writer needs to learn about thwarting desire. He/she needs to understand the importance of conflict in a book. But if you really still feel you have a book in you, then just do it. James Ellroy is a great plotter. And he is a master. Check out his books for conflict, setting, suspense and powerhouse writing.

What do you enjoy doing besides writing? Any hobbies or interests?

J.B.:A lot of people think my favorite hobby is staring out of windows. That’s only partially correct. I’m thinking, if you must know. But I like spending time with my family, reading (not surprisingly) and love films. One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest, Heat, L.A. Confidential, Serpico, Payback, you get the picture. I also love music. Johnny Cash, The Beatles, The Kinks, Nirvana, The Fall, Joni Mitchell, bluegrass music.

I will be posting a review of Hard Road in the future along with links to purchase his novel when it is released. I am really looking forward to reading his book.

Leave a Reply

beeseeker

Somewhere between the notes.

Kouzounas Kitchen

Modern Greek Recipes

atomatogrowsinqueens

Organic Gardening

beverlyshelby

An award free blog. Thank you so much for stopping by, your "likes" (or not), and your comments. I appreciate each of you and enjoy your blogs and your creativity. So here's to a new year of friends, photos, and words!

Pitter Potter Mad Gardener

Sow, Love and Nurture

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Exquisite Gift Baskets

Elegant, Affordable Gift Baskets & Gifts

JDSelmser

In love with the idea of being in love

wild*crafty

food, medicine, land

Deep Green Permaculture

Connecting People to Nature, Empowering People to Live Sustainably

Semantic Marmot

I sail only for the counterpoint.

My Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

soma

positive thinking

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Ky Grabowski

Today is a beginning; not an end.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Twinkling Star (Yasmeen Sana Baloch)

Looking for peace,justice and understanding

